Topic 3 – What does authentic profile really mean? (Reflection)

Leave a comment

December 4, 2014 by sylviakangkang

large

Image source

Everyone can say that their profile is authentic but what how true is it?

I mentioned how genuine we should be when it comes to sharing our online identity but what if there are some who still don’t believe your identity is real? After reading and commenting on Khairul‘s and Vanessa‘s , I now know the real meaning of being authentic! From both of their blog, I know know how helpful googling myself is! If your future boss don’t believe whatever written on your social media or Linkedin profile, they will check out Google. Because Google is one of the biggest ‘memory’ on the internet. When people upload somethings about you or anything related to your name, it appears on Google! That is why Khairul shared the article online “Why you are a complete idiot if you don’t google yourself” ! That was certainly a blow to me because now I know i’m quite an idiot! Ha ha! Just kidding, I believed this module has really increased my digital knowledge a whole lot. I used to think I’m a digital resident that knows a lot but that was not true at all! There are so much more to learn! I also learnt a new term called ‘Hyperconnectivity‘. “Hyperconnectivity is about being a signal in the sea of data and making and shaping the waves of social knowledge.” Since internet holds so much information,be it the good and bad, with hyperconnectors, they are able to organise online content effectively and curating what really matters.

I’m gonna start the habit of googling about myself (anything relating to me) to ensure my reputation online is in the good light. I wouldn’t want anything nasty of myself to appear on Google that is not true which turn my online identity to be non-authentic!

Leave a comment